Friday, 6 January 2017

What are the types of beams??

Classification of beams based on supports
  1. Simply supported - a beam supported on the ends which are free to rotate and have no moment resistance.
  2. Fixed - a beam supported on both ends and restrained from rotation.
  3. Over hanging - a simple beam extending beyond its support on one end.
  4. Double overhanging - a simple beam with both ends extending beyond its supports on both ends.
  5. Continuous - a beam extending over more than two supports.
  6. Cantilever - a projecting beam fixed only at one end.
  7. Trussed - a beam strengthened by adding a cable or rod to form a truss.
Based on geometry:
  1. Straight beam – Beam with straight profile
  2. Curved beam – Beam with curved profile
  3. Tapered beam – Beam with tapered cross section
  4. Based on the shape of cross section:
    1. I-beam – Beam with ‘I’ cross section
    2. T-beam – Beam with ‘T’ cross section
    3. C-beam – Beam with ‘C’ cross section
Based on equilibrium conditions:
  1. Statically determinate beam – For a statically determinate beam, equilibrium conditions alone can be used to solve reactions.
  2. Statically indeterminate beam – For a statically indeterminate beam,  equilibrium conditions are not enough to solve reactions. Additional  deflections are needed to solve reactions.

Classification of beams based on materials:

1. Timber Beam

2. Steel Beam:

3. Concrete beam:

No comments:

Post a Comment